I Can’t Believe You Don’t Eat Butter

 Flojo’s Easy Detox Tip #3

OK, this is a supadupa easy tip. Stop buying margarine, spreadable “butter” and any fancy schmancy low-fat, cholesterol-reducing, poly-whoodyamaflip tubs of yellow gunk! And, before you ask, even that one. And that one! Sorry, that ones gotta go too. I know it says pure/organic/healthy on the side. It’s still no good for you.

I don’t care what claims that crap makes on the side of its plastic tub; humans did perfectly well on good old butter from organically raised, pasture raised cattle for – like – ever without replacing it with bleached, purified, chemically interfered with, heated (and so damaged) artificial and additive-laden muck. The blame for the downturn in the general population’s collective health can largely be left at the door of the fake butter-peddling industry’s doors. And don’t be fooled by actual butter with “traditional values” packaging either. The nutritional content still doesn’t compare. A bit of research into seeing what commercial dairy herds are fed, how they are raised and how they are treated should put you right off.

Butter from organically raised dairy herds is the bomb! It has a great Omega 3 to 6 ratio, higher levels of vitamins D & K, more CLA (linked to weight loss) and tastes so much better than spreadable rubbish or inferior butter. Butter is a magnificent accompaniment to steaming plates of broccoli, asparagus or kale while carrots or cabbage sliced and gently fried in butter are far tastier than boiled. Not only does veg taste better with butter but the fat soluble vitamins,  such as A and D become more bio-available once served with the rich  golden stuff. In the meantime, I am more than happy to let my daughters eat it by the slice, happy in the knowledge that it’s a bonafide health food in its own right.

Further Reading:

Soil Association Definition of Organic Dairy Farming

Mark Sisson: Is All Butter Created Equal?

8 thoughts on “I Can’t Believe You Don’t Eat Butter

  1. I agree! I remember when margarine became the “in” thing when I was a child. Our family tried it to see what the fuss and “healthy” touting was all about. I hated the taste – and still do. Luckily so did my family, so we always had butter. As I’m older, I too try to find the better quality ones as it does taste sooo much better. Yay! I don’t have to do this weeks homework 🙂

    Like

  2. “[Deception’s] a poison. Like margarine – I can’t have that in my body,” from the film ‘Failure to Launch.’ Once my mom found out how truly bad margarine was, our family switched to butter forever. My grandma still swears by the hydrogenated stuff though 😛

    If a product has to tell you how ‘healthy’ it is, then it’s not healthy.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yay, butter. Passing the butter churn around used to be an after-dinner pastime at my family’s farmhouse when the cows were still around. So says my father, the import. My Mom just rolls her eyes. Of course they passed the butter churn. They had fresh milk and free cream, and knew the value of whole food before Whole Foods invented it. Imagine being able to taste when the bossies got into the wild onion part of the meadow–and knowing that butter came in different colors at different times of year.

    I was going to get a small butter churn for a gag gift at Christmas, but low and behold, it was a hot item; they were pretty much sold out, and grossly over-priced. I’m not sure how to interpret that. New interest in homesteading? Don’t stock many? The rest of the milk from our farm went to a local creamery that made milk and sold the cream to a butter company called Land ‘O Lakes, which I think is the best US sweet butter.

    I’m a big fan of European butters. Kerrygold is the best-priced grass-fed butters in the US, and now the only kind I buy now. Until it hit the shelves, good cultured butter was almost impossible to find; it all was sweet butter.

    Because of the farm thing (and the eye-rolling mother), we never deviated far from the butter path. Even lard still occasionally shows up around here. Thanks for singing the praises of this wonderful, healthy stuff.

    Like

  4. Sorry Danielle, no idea why I never replied to this before…

    Good point about “healthy” claims. You don’t see that on naturally healthy products do you? Although natural is one of those claims too… hmmmm..!

    Like

Leave a Reply

