The Cleanest All Purpose Bathroom Cleaner!

 Flojo’s Easy Detox Tip #2

Confession: I used to avoid cleaning our bathroom… I would regularly give it a good wipe round with an e-cloth; but the deep cleaning? I’d avoid it like the plague. But hear me out! Every bathroom cleaning spray I tried, even the “eco” products, triggered a mild asthmatic episode. My poor lungs were struggling with the assault of toxic chemical combinations. But asthma or not everyone’s going to get a lungful of stuff you really don’t want to breathe in from commercial cleaning products. Have you got a minute right now? Go have a look on the labels.

That’s not really acceptable is it?

But then, neither is having a grubby bathroom so I was really chuffed when I read that white vinegar mixed with water makes a perfectly fine cleaning spray. White vinegar doesn’t appear to be an easy product to obtain in the UK but I bought 4 x 5 litre bottles* from Amazon for just over £12.00 and I figure those should do me for about a year (I’ll list some more uses in other tips!). I’ve just been diluting the vinegar with tap water at a roughly 1:3 ratio.

You can add essential oils if you like but I haven’t invested in any yet. I’m thinking some rosemary might be nice here.

It works on all your bathroom surfaces from the bath, sink and toilet to any shelves, windows, glass screening or shower curtains you have. You can just spray on and wipe off but if you’ve got some serious soap and limescale scum going on in your bathtub then a sprinkle of bicarbonate of soda and a smidgen of elbow grease should do the job nicely. Then spray with your vinegar mix and buff to a shine.

A shiny clean bathroom, happy lungs and an end to multiple garishly branded plastic bottles assaulting my eyes. For a 500ml bottle that’s cost me around 10p I reckon that’s an all round winner! Who’s going to give it a go?

*Simon is taking the used plastic bottles to school to be re-used.

Further reading:

A mommypotamus recipe: DIY Citrus Splash All-Purpose Cleaner

5 thoughts on “The Cleanest All Purpose Bathroom Cleaner!

  1. Been using white vinegar and water 50/50, and peppermint oil, for years as a floor cleaner. Hands and knees, squeeze some vinegar from a plastic bottle, scrub gently with a green backed sponge scourer and wipe off with an old towel, which can then go in the wash. Never thought of putting it in a spray bottle, thanks flo I’ll give it go! Have been using bicarbonate of soda for the bathroom…….

    I started because of rhinitis and we have a septic tank, so no bleach based products allowed!

    Best window cleaner I’ve used is flat soda water, nothing fancy, cost about 44p a bottle, supermarket own brand. Pop in a spray bottle, you don’t need much on the window and works a charm for car windows too, and less time cleaning than with chemical cleaners…….

    White vinegar? ask your local fruit and veg man, they sometimes keep some in all year round but definitely September as its pickling time …..

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

