Here Comes the Rain Again

Only one week to go before the Wolf Run. To say I’m scared witless would be an understatement.

I haven’t set myself up for any kind of sponsorship because I have a fear of not completing the course. Or indeed not turning up. But if you would like to sponsor my team mate I promise to try extra hard to get to that finish line. Here’s his page. Just Giving

24th October 2015. It’s cold. It’s p***ing down. Low cloud provides minimal visibility from less than half way up Crook Peak.

  Isn’t the view marvellous?!!

Today I power my way up, in leggings and a vest top, cheerily shouting out hello to the various groups of bemused and bedraggled hikers in their head-to-toe waterproofs and sturdy walking boots. I then skid and slide my way back down, nearly careering into my husband Simon and Ella-the-dog who are walking up through the cloud Ella-speed. Then I head BACK up the hill, with my own personal Darth Vader soundtrack, pausing only to wave at a hedge that is posing as Simon. Finally I walk back down with Simon and Ella who have heroically waited for me at the top. This is more like it. I am pretty darn proud of myself.

25th October 2015. It’s a perfect cold frosty morning as my Wolf Run team mate and I head out. My trainers are still wet from yesterday and my hands are like blocks of ice by the time we’ve walked up to the woods. But it’s a lovely 4.something mile run (ok, I’m still needing to walk some sections) and boy is it muddy!! We were both skidding all over the place even with off road treads. You know what I noticed about my trainers wide toe boxes today? There’s more room for the mud to squish around my toes…

27th October 2015. Finish a tedious morning at work and head out for a 2 mile run-walk-run across the fields. I focus on my breathing and not stomping down on my heels. I also feel under some pressure to keep my form from collapsing when I am watched so intently by horses, cows and sheep. In fact one horse quite definitely mutters something derogatory as I stumble past. I feel that quadrupeds could at least attempt a little sympathy for what Daniel Vitalis refers to as Homo sapiens domesticofragilis.

30th October 2015. Another post-work run across the fields. I manage 2 miles with only one minute of walking and no inhaler. And I have a revelation… I seem to have lost my fear of mud!! Just as well…


The non-running training, admittedly no longer on a daily basis, but all frequently. Deep breath… Resting squats, hang time, toe spacing, neutral feet, 10am coffee curfew, cold showers, jumping, hydrating, stretching and flexing. Plus:

  1. Kelly Starrett‘s couch stretch for hip extension, which I loathe but effectively opens out the hip and helps alleviate some types of knee, hip and back pain
  2. Startett’s hip flexion for 30 seconds on each side should give me a more fighting chance of being able to “run with good form and balance and channel power from my posterior chain.”
  3. I have fuelled each run this week with a fabulous Paleo Isotonic Super Booster. I do recommend you try it; it tastes lovely and zingy and gives you just the right amount of zip-and-go!
3 thoughts on “Here Comes the Rain Again

  1. Pingback: Wouldn’t Take Nothing for my Journey Now.  | flojoeasydetox

Leave a Reply

