Ready and Poised to Wax or Wane

Two weeks to go now until the Wolf Run and it ain’t looking great…

17th October 2015. Despite 6 blasts of salbutamol I deafen myself with the sound of my own tuneless wheezing as I charge up Crook Peak today with my weighted backpack. It’s about 10 degrees Celsius (50 F) and the northerly wind is causing my lungs to protest loudly. Birds take off and fly away, squawking at the horrific sound of high decibel wheezing while cows, dozing beside the track, shake their heads sadly at me as I cough up muck and spit into the wind. There’s stuff I still need to learn here and I’ve only got three weeks to learn it…

18th October 2015. Run up to the woods with my Wolf Run team mate in order to break in his new trail shoes. Disappointingly it’s fairly dry so he doesn’t get the full boggy experience. I am aware that this sounds harsh, but it is entirely his fault that I’ve had to go through this trauma of trying to get fit to a deadline. He trumps my bramble lasso experience by getting his ankles tangled in some barbed wire. So I guess we are quits now.
19th October 2015. Take dog for 4.5 mile walk across fields. Her top pace is a 19 minute mile so I guess it’s a stroll really! We negotiate gates blocked by cows; inquisitive horses, cute but feisty sheep and many dogs off the lead and out of control.

 The three things I most hate to have shouted at me? Don’t worry, he won’t hurt you! always cheerfully yelled as dog runs up slavering, growling and getting in the way. She just wants to say hello! Which is generally preceded by the damn dog jumping up and getting muddy paws all up your legs or back and ahhh, why don’t you let your poor doggy off the lead? Seriously? Sorry if I sound grumpy. I am still PMSing. Seems the last Equinox has knocked my cycle off schedule. I feel like I am trying to move through water and all I want to do is sleep.

20th October 2015. Keeping it honest… Today has been a day of binge eating, sofa sleeping and absolutely no training whatsoever. Zero. Zilch.

21st October 2015. My 12 year old arrives back from school with the news that she has run 2.3 km in 10 mins 42. What the hell?! I want her to run in my place but my Wolf Run team mate rudely reminds me that the organisers would notice that she is much younger than me and that my race t-shirt would be far too big for her.

22nd October 2015. Cycle is back on track but I still can’t run. Cramp, clumsiness and nausea will not let this happen.

23rd October 2015. I have a day off and head into Bristol with my husband where we walk 2 miles of hills interspersed with a latte or two. When I get home I pull on trainers and head out for a brisk 1.5 mile run. It’s really hard work but I am relived that I can manage it. Roll on the weekend. I can do this…

The non-running training stuff: yep, still with the resting squats, hang time, toe spacing, neutral feet, coffee curfew (now 10am) and cold showers. But I’ve now added the following:

  1. Jumping. With a) a lack of equipment and b) a lack of space I am adapting Kelly Starrett’s standard #12 Jumping and Landing in order to improve my running mechanics. Because who doesn’t want good running mechanics? Firstly ten barefoot and feet together jumps as far as I can all in one go; embarrassingly, this is enough to get me out of puff. Then thirty jumps on my right foot (pretending I have a skipping rope!) and thirty jumps on my left. All these with a focus on straight feet, neutral knees and strong arches.
  2. Hydration. I’m always pretty good at drinking plenty of water and sometimes adding salt to my water to maximise hydration. But this week I’m making sure to drink a 2.5 – 3l daily and supplementing with electrolytes.
  3. Stretching and Flexing.   I’m working on good ankle motion here and doubling up with calf stretches. While blogging and entertaining the cat. Hey, wait! Poppy this IS entertaining! Don’t look away….

Title stolen from a Christina Rosetti poem. 

One thought on “Ready and Poised to Wax or Wane

  1. Pingback: Wouldn’t Take Nothing for my Journey Now.  | flojoeasydetox

Leave a Reply

