The Gratitude List

Friday was a supadupa exciting week for me because I had my Success Story featured on Mark Sisson’s amazing primal-living site marksdailyapple. And I have been overwhelmed with the most lovely comments in response to my story! The Primal crew are an incredibly supportive community and I really recommend you sign up for regular updates from the site because Mark’s expertise is impeccable and his approach to health is, well, just go check it out; you won’t be disappointed.

There were two main elements I took from these lovely responses: 1) that many people identified with either the depression and anxiety I suffered a year ago, or the alleviation of symptoms that going primal can bring; and 2) that people loved that the benefits I wrote about read like a gratitude list. It was – I just hadn’t thought about it this way. I’m not sure that us more reserved Brits have cottoned onto the concept of gratitude in the same way that our friends across the pond have. We don’t like things to be a “thing!” We can be grateful, but we don’t like gratitude to be a thing we do. Along with spirituality, religion and having a shrink on call, acknowledging emotions is kind of embarrassing concept to us. However, in my book-that-never-was I wrote about gratitude in week five. And you know what? It was my plan to give you this excerpt this week, before I had any idea that my story was going to be published!

So, without further ado I’m going to make a request of you. I promise it won’t take long! Every night, before you sleep, can you make a note (either written in a notebook or in your memory) just one thing you are grateful for? It doesn’t need to be anything big, unique or profound, although it can be. But it does need to make you smile. That’s it. One smile before you sleep. If you are a bit stuck check some of the suggestions below. The ones in italics are from my team of ex-clients, facebook followers and book reviewers. Add your own to the list and let me know what they were!

  • I’m grateful for my health.
  • I’m grateful for going to my GP with a major worry and finding… there’s nothing to worry about! Yay!
  • I’m grateful for having a job that I enjoy.
  • I am grateful for my weekends!
  • I am grateful for my husband, who is kind, fit, gorgeous and loves me no matter what.
  • I’m grateful for finding such a lovely boyfriend that I want to share my life with.
  • I was grateful for half past three arriving and being able to go home and see my boys who had been with their dad all weekend.
  • I am grateful for the friendship and support I get from my friend.
  • I am grateful for dry clothes after being soaked in the rain.
  • I am grateful for having the company of a rather delicate but adorable cat.
  • I’m grateful that I had the chance to know my grand parents.
  • I was grateful for my delicious bowl of cauliflower soup…it is COLD out there today!
  • I’m grateful for being able to sit in the garden after work whilst looking out onto one of the most beautiful parts of the world.
  • I love life and am grateful for the chance to live it to the max. 
  • I am grateful for old friends who is it no effort to be with.
  • I am grateful for my lovely en-suite bathroom (after years of a damp cold downstairs one which I survived through both pregnancies!!)
  • Last night I was grateful for my bed! It was very comfy and gave me a good night’s sleep!
  • I’m grateful that I have a warm house /  beautiful shoes / a savings account / full tank of petrol in the car / fridge full of lovely vegetables.
  • I’m grateful for that phone call from my friend / smile from a stranger / compliment from my colleague / meal cooked by my partner.
  • I’m grateful that today I remembered to take my shopping list with me /  got to the bus-stop on time / made a massage appointment / pushed myself to go for a walk.
  • I am grateful for having the chance to share my story with such a lovely bunch of people. Their empathy, encouragement and praise has meant more to me than they will ever know.

“It was not until I had been doing this for a few days that I realised how many things I do have to be happy and grateful about and how I really do need to focus more on those in my life.” Carole

“I enjoyed this exercise as I do have a tendency at times to think about all the negative things in life and this is a good way to stop that and be mindful of what is good!” Shelina

Related Post:

How Flojo got her Mojo back.

Leave a Reply

