Jumping on the Bone Broth Bandwagon

I have jumped on the bone broth wagon. And I don’t plan on jumping off any time soon because a) it’s delicious b) it’s stupidly good for you and c) it’s cheap as chips. It also saves me having to think about lunch each day because I keep it in a saucepan on the stove and just fire up the gas when I get back from work; by the time I’ve dumped my bags and got changed I’ve got a mug of velvety, chickeny loveliness: hot, unctuous and good to go.

A very lovely friend asked me the other day how to make it and what to do with it. And my immediate explanation sucked so I’m going to write it down here and try to do a better job. Please comment below if I’m still not making sense.

First I dump a chicken carcass in a large saucepan. Sometimes the carcass is a raw one (I order organic carcasses from Riverford for next to nothing and keep them, bagged and ready to go in the freezer) and sometimes it’s all the leftover bones from a roast.

Next I pour in some water, a tablespoon of apple cider vinegar (which draws the calcium out of the bones), a tablespoon or two of salt (sea or fancy pink Himalayan stuff) and several black peppercorns.

Finally I root through the fridge to see what needs using up – celery, carrots, garlic, chilli pepper, onions & leeks are all good. They just need a rinse – no chopping required unless they don’t fit comfortably in the pan. Add herbs or spices if you like. Then you just need to stick a lid on it, put the heat on really low and leave alone for as long as possible. Twelve hours is good but go for even longer if you can manage it.

Sometimes we strain it all immediately (our pets love the soggy veggies) and sometimes I just strain a cup’s worth at a time and leave the rest to intensify in taste. Have you noticed my frequent use of the word, “sometimes?” it really is that adaptable. No need to get bored with any method or taste.

As our fridge is tiny I usually leave my broth in the pan and re-boil it each day but you might like to refrigerate it if food safety worries you.

Then just drink the stuff! As often as you like, as often as you can. Try adding a splash of cream or a slice of spiced butter. Liven it up with a dash of tamari or Tabasco. Go crazy with star anise, fish sauce and lime juice. But please don’t underestimate how gorgeous it is untampered with and served simply, in a huge mug and with lots of blowing to cool it down. I’m afraid you will almost definitely burn your tongue. Don’t say I didn’t warm you.

One thought on “Jumping on the Bone Broth Bandwagon

  1. Pingback: Take One Chicken! | flojoeasydetox

Leave a Reply

