Raw chocolate with Macadamias and Toasted Almonds

I treated myself to a few books on eating raw recently and the cover of Jessica Fenton’s “Jessica’s Raw Chocolate Recipes” kind of sung to me, siren like. It’s a treasure trove of drinks, truffles and puddings all based on cacao powder, butter and nibs. Her Winter Warming Drinking Chocolate (OK, so I made that on the same day I bought the book) is beyond decadent and so it was only going to be a matter of time before I tried out another recipe. Unfortunately few of the ingredients required exist in my tiny food cupboard so while I knew a bit of experimentation was called for I needed a nice simple recipe to get going with. Luckily I had most of what I needed for her Raw Chocolate-covered Brazils and so today, as I wait in for a delivery, potter through the housework and listen to the rain hammering down outside, I’m indulging in these beauties.

20140113-023504 pm.jpg

I toasted 200g almonds and blitzed half of them to a powder along with 50g macadamias. Melted 120g cacao butter and then whisked in 120g agave syrup, 5 heaped tbsp cacao powder, a pinch of sea salt and the ground nuts. Poured the mixture into a 15cm square silicon tray, mixed the rest of the almonds and about 100g macadamias. Froze the lot for half an hour and then cut into shards.

I’m impressed with just how easy these were to make. And also how successful and ridiculously tasty they are considering I didn’t have the required Brazil nuts, cayenne pepper or pink crystal salt. And while they are pretty pricy it’s true, you really don’t need that much for a chocolate hit. I’m going to try and make these last, but I’m not promising anything. Not. A. Thing.

Leave a Reply

