Eating better

20140110-013728 pm.jpg
Armed with my deliberately vague 2014 resolution but wanting a bit more structure for this week I thought I’d make some temporary tweaks to my dietary intake in order to offset the devil-may-care attitude I held over the holiday period. These tweets (yikes, nearly wrote twerks!) were as follows:
Cut out caffeine.
Avoid refined sugar
Eat predominantly raw vegan foodstuffs for breakfast, lunch and snacks.

Just for a bit, and subject to immediate change as and when the mood takes me. Well, so far it’s going ok. I am eating better and still thoroughly enjoying a hot, cooked meal with my family in the evening.

I don’t usually drink much coffee for good reason – I like it heavily sugared and with lots of milk, preferably cream. (Make that double cream. Shhhh…) As you can see, it makes sense to limit it at the best of times. But as I’ve also decided to avoid refined sugar (just for a while remember, let’s not go overboard) I might as well leave it out altogether. As for sugar itself I seem to be getting through my agave syrup pretty quickly this week, so maybe I shouldn’t be quite so free and easy with the raw cheesecakes and raw chocolate recipes either. But… Little steps. I am not, I repeat NOT touching any of the biscuits at work or helping myself to any of my daughters’ leftover Christmas chocolate.

I wanted to share with you my lovely lunch today. Well, not literally as I’ve finished it, but the details at any rate. Considering I could happily eat fried egg on hot, buttered toast for lunch every day of my life I’ve had to challenge myself to sort a suitably tasty, but fast to prepare alternative. The salad pictured above ticks both those boxes. Lots of texture, loads of taste, keeps-you-full until dinnertime, takes less than ten minutes to prepare.

Want some? Here’s how…

Chop / tear and arrange a basic salad of whatever is in your fridge. (Crisp lettuce, tasty cucumber, juicy baby tomatoes, zingy spring onions is a delicious base, but substitute whatever you fancy.)

Blitz 1 cup nuts, 1/2 cup ground flaxseed, 2 tablespoons coconut oil, 2 tablespoons balsamic and a pinch of salt. Shake some over your salad and save the rest in the fridge (you can shape into balls, burgers or sausages first if you like.)

Make this fabulous dressing (which I’ve tweaked a bit according to what I’ve got in stock) by Matthew Kenney by blitzing 1 cup cashews, 1 cup water, 2 tbsp tahini, 1/4 cup lemon juice, 2 tbsp ginger, chilli to taste and 1/4 cup agave. Spoon some over and store the rest in the fridge.

Eat. Enjoy. Feel refreshed and virtuous. Finish with a herbal tea.

One thought on “Eating better

  1. Pingback: A SupaDupa, Easy, Quick, Delicious, Healthy Vegan Lunch | flojoeasydetox

Leave a Reply

